Thailand adds Sandbox destinations

BANGKOK, 10 January 2022: Thailand’s Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has approved a new round of entry measures for international arrivals to Thailand, reopening three more Sandbox destinations – Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao) from 11 January 2022. 

It gives the country four Sandbox destinations when the already established Phuket is included. 

International travellers will be able to travel to Thailand under the Sandbox programme and can choose to undergo their mandatory seven-day stay in either Krabi, Phang-Na, Phuket, or Surat Thani (limited to Samui, Pha-ngan, and Tao islands).

However, all travellers must make sure that they arrange everything in order before applying for the Sandbox Thailand Pass. This may include but is not limited to the following: A vaccination certificate, a pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result, prepaid seven night’s accommodation in an approved hotel, prepaid RT-PCR tests for when in Thailand, and an insurance policy with the cover of no less than US$50,000.

Travellers must stay at least the first seven nights within a Sandbox destination if planning to continue the journey to other destinations in Thailand. If staying less than seven nights, the traveller must leave Thailand to another country immediately.

Lifting of travel restrictions

Also, from 11 January 2022, the CCSA approved the lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries. This means travellers from Africa will be allowed to apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.

New Test & Go Thailand Pass applications remain suspended until further notice. Those who have already obtained a Test & Go Thailand Pass and have a QR Code are allowed to enter the country (CCSA will update if there is a cut off date for entry for those who already have a pass). That window remains open for the time being for those who have already completed the Test & Go procedure and have the go-ahead to travel.

Even though new applications for the  Test & Go scheme have been suspended until further notice, travellers who are currently planning to enter Thailand can apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.

Thailand’s 26 “Blue Zone” provinces

The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain the designation of 26 “Blue Zone” provinces with pilot tourist destinations. However, stringent health and safety guidelines have been introduced.

“Blue Zone” destinations are:

Central Region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya, and Si Racha districts, and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Trat (only for Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts).

Northern Region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only) and Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen, and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).

Northeastern Region: Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan district only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts only).

Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao only).

For more information on entry into Thailand schemes, please visit: