AirAsia welcomes inaugural flight to Melaka

MELAKA, 2 July 2019 – AirAsia celebrated the arrival of its inaugural flight from Penang to the historic state of Melaka on Monday.

AirAsia Flight AK 6284, using an Airbus A320 aircraft, departed Penang International Airport at 1320 and landed at 1425 in Melaka International Airport, where it was welcomed by a water cannon salute upon arrival.

Melaka Chief Minister YAB Tuan Adly bin Zahari said: “We are very happy to welcome AirAsia to Melaka. We applaud AirAsia’s effort in launching this new route, which coincides with Visit Melaka Year 2019 (VMY2019). Melaka welcomed 17.02 million tourists in 2018, of which 33.41% were foreign travellers. This year, the target stands at 20 million tourists.

Photo caption: (Fourth from left) AirAsia Malaysia CEO Riad Asmat; Melaka Chief Minister YAB Tuan Adly bin Zahari; Deputy Minister of Primary Industries and Member of Parliament for Hang Tuah Jaya YB Datuk Seri Shamsul Iskandar bin Haji Mohd Akin; Transport and Public Facilities Exco Member YB Datuk Mohd Sofi bin Abdul Wahab; Melaka Human Resource and Community Exco Member YB Tuan G. Saminathan receiving AirAsia’s inaugural flight from Penang to Melaka.

Under the VMY2019 initiative, the state is promoting a variety of attractive accommodation packages and interesting activities to cater to more international and local tourists.

AirAsia Malaysia CEO Riad Asmat added: “This is a proud day for AirAsia and the people of two UNESCO world heritage sites and cities – Penang and Melaka. The new route not only provides a boost to local tourism but also contributes to long-lasting economic growth for the two cities.”

Melaka becomes AirAsia’s sixth domestic destination and 14th route from its Penang hub. AirAsia now flies from Penang to Melaka, Kuala Lumpur, Johor Bahru, Langkawi, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Singapore, Jakarta, Surabaya, Medan, Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Bangkok and Phuket. 

AirAsia is currently offering 20% off on all seats, all flights. Bookings are available on and the AirAsia mobile app from now until 7 July for the travel period 8 July to 21 November.