Vietnam adds to eVisa list

HANOI, 22 February 2019: Vietnam has amended its list nationalities eligible for eVisas and extended the programme to 31 January 2021.

The original legislation that launched the eVisa programme was first announced 25 January 2017 and covered two years with 40 nationalities eligible for the online visa, later increased to include 46 nationalities. It was identified as pilot project.

The government confirmed the scheme was extended until 2021 to sustain the growth target for Vietnam tourism.

That agreement has now been superseded by amendments to the degree that adds another 34 countries to the list of eligible nationalities.

The additions comprises of Austria, Iceland, Belgium, Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Qatar, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Macedonia, Micronesia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, San Marino, Cyprus, Switzerland, China (applicable for Hong Kong and Macau passport holders and inapplicable for China’s e-passport holders), Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Serbia and Slovenia.

More international border gates have been added so travellers holding an eVisa authorisation can now enter at Tay Trang in the northern mountainous province of Dien Bien, Na Meo in the central province of Thanh Hoa, La Lay in the central province of Quang Tri, Duong Dong port in the southern province of Kien Giang and Chan May port in the central province of Thua Thien-Hue.

There are now 16 border gates and nine ports in Vietnam where foreigners can enter using the eVisa.

The latest amendment took effect, 1 February, although press statements were only released last week. The extension of the pilot project to 2021 was confirmed earlier in December 2018.

The eVisa is valid for 30 days and costs USD25 via the official government site.

Meanwhile, five European nationalities continue to get visa free entry until 2021. They are United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy and Spain.


No Citizens of Days of Free Visa
1 United Kingdom 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2021)
2 France 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2021)
3 Italy 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2021)
4 Spain 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2021)
5 Germany 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2021)
6 Belarus 15 days (Valid until 30 June 2020)
7 Japan 15 days
8 South Korea 15 days
9 Sweden 15 days
10 Norway 15 days
11 Denmark 15 days
12 Russia 15 days
13 Finland 15 days
14 Cambodia 30 days
15 Thailand 30 days
16 Malaysia 30 days
17 Singapore 30 days
18 Indonesia 30 days
19 Laos 30 days
20 Philippines 21 days
21 Brunei 14 days
22 Myanmar 14 days
23 Chile 90 days (Starting from 11 August 2017)