Myanmar extends eVisa to Indian border

YANGON, 24 September 2018: Two more land checkpoints, both on the border with India, have been added for travellers applying for Myanmar’s eVisas.

Irrawaddy news online reported, 18 September, that Myanmar’s eVisa was available for all international travellers and Indians at the two overland border checkpoints.

Myanmar’s Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population approved the change to its eVisa regulations 24 August.

It applies to both tourist and business visits.

The eVisa service is applicable for travel to Myanmar through three international airports — Yangon, Nay Pyi Daw and Mandalay — three land checkpoints between Thailand and Myanmar, plus the two additions on the border with India.

The two India-Myanmar checkpoints are Tamu-Moreh, along India’s border with Sagaing Region; and the Rih Khaw Dar-Zokhawthar checkpoint, along India’s border with Chin State.

Travellers need to apply online for the eVisas that costs USD50 at the Ministry of Labour Immigration and Population’s website. Avoid other websites run by commercial venture that claim to offer eVisa services to Myanmar.

Once the eVisa has been approved, a process that takes up to three days, the traveller prints out the confirmation email that has a barcode and presents the document at the immigration office at the border checkpoint.

The Tamu-Moreh checkpoint connects Myanmar’s upper Sagaing Region with Manipur State of India, while The Rih Khaw Dar-Zokhawthar checkpoint connects Chin State with India’s Mizoram State.

Both are busy corridors for Indian tourists and traders, but there have been security risks in the areas. Irrawaddy noted that there have been frequent clashes between rebel groups and Myanmar’s military that disrupted cross-border trade in the past.

In related news, Brazil was recently added to the list of eligible nationalities that can apply for eVisas at the ministry’s website.

A ministry announcement, 20 September, said it had revamped its eVisa website and advised users if they encountered problems applying for the visa through the new website to email [email protected].

Visitors who used the service previously and bookmarked the website got an error message, but were redirected to the new website when they clicked “Back to Home”.

The six points of entry for travellers using an eVisa.

Yangon International Airport
Mandalay International Airport
Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint (Thailand)
Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint (Thailand)
Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint (Thailand)
Tamu Land Border Checkpoint (India)
Rih Khaw Dar Land Border Checkpoint (India)

The following countries plus Taiwan are eligible for an eVisa:

No. Country Name No. Country Name
1. Albania 51. Kenya
2. Algeria 52. Korea, DPR
3. Argentina 53. Korea, Republic
4. Australia 54. Kuwait
5. Austria 55. Kyrgyzstan
6. Bangladesh 56. Laos
7. Belarus 57. Latvia
8. Belgium 58. Lithuania
9. Bhutan 59. Luxembourg
10. Bolivia 60. Malaysia
11. Bosnia 61. Maldives
12. Brazil 62. Malta
13. Brunei 63. Mauritius
14. Bulgaria 64. Mexico
15. Cambodia 65. Monaco
16. Cameroon 66. Mongolia
17. Canada 67. Morocco
18. Chile 68. Nepal
19. China 69. Netherlands
20. Colombia 70. New Zealand
21. Costa Rica 71. Norway
22. Côte d’Ivoire 72. Pakistan
23. Croatia 73. Panama
24. Cyprus 74. Peru
25. CZECH 75. Philippines
26. Denmark 76. Poland
27. Ecuador 77. Portugal
28. Egypt 78. Qatar
29. Eritrea 79. Romania
30. Estonia 80. Russia
31. Fiji 81. Saudi Arabia
32. Finland 82. Serbia
33. France 83. Singapore
34. Georgia 84. Slovakia
35. Germany 85. Slovenia
36. Ghana 86. South Africa
37. Greece 87. Spain
38. Guatemala 88. Sri Lanka
39. Guinea 89. Sweden
40. Hungary 90. Switzerland
41. Iceland 91. Thailand
42. India 92. Turkey
43. Indonesia 93. Uganda
44. Ireland 94. Ukraine
45. Israel 95. United Kingdom
46. Italy 96. United States of America
47. Jamaica 97. Uruguay
48. Japan 98. Uzbekistan
49. Jordan 99. Venezuela
50. Kazakhstan 100. Vietnam