Egypt introduces eVisa


BANGKOK, 11 July 2018: Egypt has introduced a new eVisa service enabling visitors from 46 countries to apply online.

Single entry visas cost USD25 and multiple entry visas USD60, valid for six months.

However, despite the long list of eligible nationalities, there are only two Asian countries, Japan and Korea, recognised for an eVisa application.

Most of the countries are in Europe, including the UK, France and Germany, plus Canada, the US, Australia, New Zealand

Travellers are advised to apply at least seven days before departure. They will also need a minimum of six months validity left on their passports.

Payment is through Mastercard, or Visa. Once approved the applicant must print out the email authorisation with a travel itinerary and accommodation details.

The new system is an alternative to applying on arrival, or through an Egyptian Consulate in the country of origin.

Egypt requires travellers to have a supporting letter from a company, or invitation letter for business or family visits.

Nationals of the countries listed below may be issued with an e-Visa upon application on the Egypt e-Visa Portal.

Albania Australia Austria Belgium
Bulgaria Canada Croatia Cyprus
Czechia Denmark Estonia Finland
France Germany Greece Holy See
Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy
Japan Korea, Republic of Latvia Lithuania
Luxembourg Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Malta Moldova, Republic of
Monaco Montenegro Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Poland Portugal Romania
Russian Federation Serbia Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden Switzerland Ukraine
United Kingdom United S

Arab Republic of Egypt electronic visa portal