Tourism for Tomorrow awards

LONDON, 23 April 2018: Two Asian enterprises, Hong Kong’s airport authority and India’s Great Himalayan Expedition, figured in the WTTC’s Tourism For Tomorrow Awards.

World Travel & Tourism Council announced the 2018 winners in sustainable tourism at the 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, last week.

The Awards were presented at a ceremony during the 18th WTTC Global Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina attended by more than 800 tourism leaders.

Celebrating inspirational, world-changing tourism initiatives worldwide, this year’s winners were industry leaders who promoted inclusive growth, and worked toward a greener future.

The awards recognised proactive contributions to sustainable development and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.

The 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards winners were:

Community Award – Global Himalayan Expedition, India;

Destination Award – Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, British Colombia, Canada;

Environment Award – Airport Authority Hong Kong, Hong Kong;

Innovation Award – Virgin Atlantic, UK;

People Award – Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, Costa Rica.

“This year the Tourism for Tomorrow Award finalists prove just how diverse and all-encompassing our sector’s commitment to sustainable growth is,” said WTTC President & CEO Gloria Guevara Manzo.

“This year’s award winners demonstrate not only that tourism can be sustainable, but that it provides tangible benefits to destinations, local communities and travellers. We hope that our award winners will motivate the Travel & Tourism sector to be part of a more sustainable world.”

Winners and Finalists

Community Award:

Winner – Global Himalayan Expedition, India;

Finalist – &Beyond, South Africa;

Finalist – Sustainable Development Institute Mamirauá, Brazil.

Destination Award:

Winner – Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, British Colombia;

Finalist – Riverwind Foundation, Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA;

Finalist – Corporación Parque Arví, Colombia.

Environment Award:

Winner – Airport Authority Hong Kong, Hong Kong;

Finalist – Chumbe Island Coral Park, Tanzania;

Finalist –Melia Hotels International, Spain.

Innovation Award:

Winner– Virgin Atlantic, UK;

Finalist – Parkbus – Transportation Options, Canada;

Finalist – Yayasan Karang Lestari Teluk Pemuteran (Pemuteran Bay Coral Protection Foundation), Indonesia.

People Award:

Winner – Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, Costa Rica;

Finalist – Heritage Watch, Australia;

Finalist – TREE Alliance, Cambodia.