Eithad and Egyptair extend codeshare

ABU DHABI, 18 April 2018: Etihad Airways and Egyptair have expanded their codeshare to cover more destinations in Africa, North Asia and Australia.

The latest codeshare agreement came into effect for bookings as of last Monday and for travel starting from 2 May.

The airlines started their codeshare partnership in March 2017 on each other’s flights operating between Abu Dhabi and Cairo.

The latest agreement sees Egyptair place its ‘MS’ code on Etihad Airways flights from Abu Dhabi to Seoul, Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney, while subject to government approvals, on flights to China.

The expanded partnership will also see Etihad Airways place its ‘EY’ code on Egyptair flights to African destinations such as Ndjamena in Chad, Nairobi in Kenya, Khartoum in Sudan, Entebbe in Uganda, Johannesburg in South Africa. Subject to government approvals, codeshares will extend to flights to Nigeria, Eritrea and Tanzania, through the Star Alliance carrier’s Cairo hub.

Etihad Airways has been serving the Abu Dhabi – Cairo route since 2004, and currently operates five daily flights between the two capitals. Egyptair operates up to three daily services on the route.