Ministry to award best destinations

BANGKOK, 28 April 2016: Ministry of Tourism and Sports has asked local communities and districts that have been grouped into five thematic clusters to select their best destinations to give them an opportunity to win a national award and recognition.

The five thematic clusters are:

Lanna Culture: Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Lampang, Lamphun and Phayao

inside no 1 Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul
Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul

South I-San: Nakhon Ratchasima, Buri Ram, Surin, Si Sa Ket, and Ubon Ratchathani.

Active Beach: Chonburi, Rayong, Chanthaburi, and Trat.

Royal Coast: Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chumphon and Ranong.

Andaman: Phuket, Krabi, Phang Nga, Trang and Satun.

Tourism and Sport Minister, Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul, said  the ministry has inaugurated, this year, a project named “Thailand Best Travel Destination”.

Communities in the thematic clusters have to select what they believe is their best destination to vie for a national award.

“The destinations should have specific strengths in environment, art and culture, wisdom and local way of life, or present creative activities to serve tourists …the products should vary to add value and increase income for the community in line with the government policy that  focuses on spreading revenue to local communities.”

She added: “The winner of the best destination campaign will be honoured with an award from Deputy Prime Minister Thanasak Patimaprakorn including support to develop product quality and standard.”

“We believe the project will drive locals to discover their outstanding tourism products …we want to support the creation of intellectual value for tourism in Thailand and promote Thainess and the way of life to impress travellers.”

There are 16 routes linked to the five thematic clusters.

The tourism ministry will  host a review meeting, 4 May, to give suggestions for product development and also to  finalise the winner by 24 May.


Comments are closed.