Call for more visa-free exemptions


HANOI, 21 July 2017: Vietnam’s Tourism Advisory Secretariat Board says the government should add six more countries to the list of those with visa exemptions to help encourage more travel to the country.

Local media quoted the board head, Hoang Nhan Chinh, saying the country should add Australia, Canada, Netherlands, New Zealand, Belgium, and Switzerland on a visa exemption list.

“Tourists from these six countries often stay for a long time in Vietnam and spend an average of USD1,200 each…they present almost no security risk.”

The head also suggested that the travel period for the visa exemption should be extended to 30 days up from the current 15 days.

“I propose the government apply 30-day visa exemptions from the third quarter of this year, to attract more tourists over the remainder of the year.”

Vietnam offers visa-free travel for citizens of seven countries; Japan, South Korea, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Sweden, and Russia.

It also has a visa-free policy for nine ASEAN countries; Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, and the Philippines.

Travellers from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy and Spain also continue to enjoy visa-free travel to Vietnam through to June 2018.

For the first six months of this year, Vietnam attracted 181,526 Australian tourists (+10.0%) following by Canada (77,937; +17.3%), the Netherlands (31,877; +17.2%), New Zealand (20,751; +19.0%), Switzerland (17,343; +7.7%) and Belgium (12,919; +13.8%).