Vichit wins ATTA election


BANGKOK, 31 March 2017: Vichit Prakobgosol was elected the 37th president of the Association of Thai Travel Agents for a two-year term (2017 to 2018) in a landslide victory at the annual general meeting, Thursday.

Vichit won the election with 395 votes from a total of 480 registered members, while the only other candidate, incumbent president Charoen Wangananont, garnered just 79 votes. It was a stunning loss and a first for an ATTA president running for a second term. There were six void ballots.

Charoen Wangananont stands down after competing a two year term 2015 and 2016.

Vichit Prakobgosol

The winning team will have to wait for Ministry of Commerce approval to confirm the committee was legally empowered to run the association. That will take 30 days.

Vichit is currently CCT Express Co Ltd managing director and honorary president of Thai-Chinese Tourism Alliance Association. He is also the TCTA’s founder and a former president and vice president of ATTA who completed two full terms. He has positive track record leading ATTA in the past and the confidence of inbound tour companies.

His campaign slogan was “Forward Together Team”.

He said: “I have over 30 years experience in inbound tourism…my team also includes experts who have over 20 years experience in this segment covering significant markets such as Europe, the United States, China, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, ASEAN, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan and India.”

“With our tourism knowledge and experiences we will manage the association professionally… we will also collaborate with Ministry of Tourism and Sports, the Tourism Authority of Thailand and related public and privates sectors including the association’s members in all markets to move the country tourism forward and to attract more tourist arrivals to the kingdom.”

Five point policy

  • Increase revenue: Increase revenue through a marketing strategy that assists association members to attract more tourists such as organising roadshows overseas, opening new tourism routes, promoting local products internationally, orgainising mega fam trips and pre-post mega event trips, smart marketing and supporting online marketing.
  • Control expenditure: Manage budget transparently and efficiently; seek public and private support for organising activities; plan expenses corresponding to receipts; and adopt a transparent and verifiable budget.
  • Build skills: Increase human resources potential through digital marketing training courses and language programmes; tighten skills in management; brainstorm between National Research Council of Thailand academics and ATTA professionals.
  • Improve information system: Use technology to reduce the working process and increase the association’s potential; and develop mobile application services for the members to access easily.
  • Create public and private networking: Support, present ideas and operate a policy with related tourism public and private sectors at both central and regional levels; organise seminars with Tourism Authority of Thailand; work with National Research Council of Thailand and educational institutions for technical cooperation; and join hands with National Science and Technology Development Agency for technology collaboration.

There are 22 members on the new board.

Six vice presidents chair committees:

Stanley Ting; Virat Chatturaputpitak; Mingkwan Metmowlee; Surawatchara Akkaraworamas; Supachai Chensaksrisakun; and Pornthip Hirunkate.

Committee members with executive roles:

Adit Chairattananont (secretary); Ekkasit Chotikasatian (finance); Pirach Hansrisuk (register); Thongyu Supawittayaporn (public relations); and Phadungchai Pisutthadamongkol (reception).

Ordinary committee members:

Sak Rerklapananon; Chinnarat Chinburi; Francois Quenault; Weera Bamrungsee; Pornsawat Nawapol; Ampol Saeton; Kang Joon; Pongpan Chansukree; Yutthana Lekpetch; Wichai Sahatsapol; and Sumalee Wongcharoenkul.

Seven advisors:

Sisdivachr Cheewarattanaporn; Apichart Sankary; Surapol Sritrakul; Sumeth Suthat na Ayutthaya; Suthiphong Pheunphiphop; Yutthachai Soonthronrattanavate; and Sorrawee Prasertwichakorn.